Disambiguation – A Lot

Journalists and other media spokespersons
have been using the phrase
a lot
a lot.
It has come to annoy me
a lot.

By way of suggestion
perhaps some well-intended
disambiguation from my own recent conversations:

Although this has indeed been
a trying time in groping for superlatives,
a different phrase would occasionally help
a lot.
(very much)

I sewed
a lot
of masks for my family and friends this year.
(a great many)

I miss my family and friends
a lot.
(a great deal)

In 2020 the president of the United States lied
a lot
(very often)
about Covid 19, election integrity and
a lot
of other things.
(a shit load)

I put a Joe Biden/Kamala Harris sign
at the end of
our lot
(a portion of land designated for ownership)
near the road
where it was stolen.

Neither of the “Trump – Law and Order” signs
two houses down
was stolen.
A lot
of situational irony there.
(a considerable amount)

When the contents of Mar-a-Lago are finally auctioned
to pay off his bankruptcy
will there be
a lot
of assorted fake presidential metals,
ribbons and awards
for eager bidders?
(a group of articles for auction to be sold as one unit)

I hope the folks of Palm Beach Florida
will soon be able to raze
the structures on Mar-a-Lago
to designate it an agricultural
lot.
(Medieval standard of property
designated by engraved stone borders
large enough for each farmer to produce
an estimated two days
of reaped hay)

To the outgoing administration
and all of its supporters
aiders and abettors
who attempted to overthrow our Democracy
I dream of delivering to each of you
in the Federal Penitentiary
*as a gesture of forgiveness*
a lot
of beautiful chocolate cake.
(archaic British Royal Standard of measurement
equal to one half
of an ounce.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a comment